Teen Pregnancy Prevention Programs Cut


July 22, 2017

All of us at Youth Catalytics were shocked by the notice we received on July 5,
2017, terminating our funding from US Office of Adolescent
Health as of June 30, 2017. We had just completed our first year of a five-year
award to provide capacity-building services to OAH’s Teen Pregnancy Prevention
Program grantees, a diverse group of nonprofits serving the nation’s highest-risk
young people, including homeless youth, young people in foster care and Native
American youth.

In March, we had delivered a successful national training to over 200 youth-serving
professionals, and were working collaboratively with our partners and federal
staff to produce resources to build healthier communities for young people
nationwide. Having been assured by federal staff that our funding was secure
per the Continuing Resolution through the FY2017 omnibus appropriations bills,
we had a number of trainings, coaching sessions and other capacity-building
activities scheduled or in development. All had to be canceled immediately just
as grantees were receiving notices that their own programs would be cut short by
two years, increasing the need for support from the capacity-building providers.

We believe that HHS has violated its own regulations with this action, and that
the purported termination action is not authorized by law. We hope to resolve this
matter with HHS quickly so that we can return to our work supporting evidence-based
programs. In the meantime, we applaud Sen. Patty Murray and other
legislators who are publicly questioning Secretary of Health and Human Services
Price about this decision, and more specifically about why the notification seeking
to end grants was made in advance of Congressional action on FY 2018

See  this letter, signed by Sens. Murray, Baldwin, Booker, Blumenthal, Sanders, Brown,
Leahy, Durbin, Carper, Duckworth, Hassan, Coons, Wyden, Udall, Reed, Casey, Markey,
Van Hollen, Cardin, Hirono, Heinrich, Franken, McCaskill, Warren, Klobuchar, Harris, Nelson,
Feinstein, Bennet, Shaheen, Menendez, Murphy, Whitehouse, Cortez Masio, Gillibrand,
Cantwell and Schatz.

~ Melanie Goodman, Executive Director

Posted in funding, news, uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe and Receive E-mail Updates